Select Page

CRITFC Commissioners

CRITFC is governed by the Fish and Wildlife Committees of its four member tribes. Each tribe determines how its Fish and Wildlife Committee is elected or selected as well as the number of representatives comprising their committee. This ranges from five to fifteen representatives. However each tribe has only one vote at the Commission table.

The four committees must reach consensus in order for the Commission to act. The Commissioners meet, at a minimum, monthly. During fishing seasons, meetings are often held more frequently via conference calls or teleconferencing.

CRITFC officers are elected to a one-year term. The Chair is selected by the Commission from the Commissioners representing the tribe whose turn it is to hold the chairmanship. The chairmanship is currently held by the Nez Perce Tribe.

Jeremy Wolf

Chairman Jeremy Red Star Wolf, Umatilla

Jeremy Red Star Wolf is the current Vice-Chairman of the Board of Trustees for the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation. His Indian name, Xitsiw Ilp Ilp, means “Red Star.” He grew up on the Umatilla River in Cayuse, Oregon. His intertribal relations include the Palouse (Chief Wolf), Nez Perce (Ollicut), Warm Springs (atway Great Aunt Gina Wolf married atway Jazzy Wewa, a Warm Springs member), and Yakama (atway Grandmother Theresa Johnson of the Yakama Charlie family).

In 1996 Jeremy graduated from Weston McEwen High school in Athena, Oregon. After serving a year with Salmon Corps, Jeremy went on to graduate from Blue Mountain Community College and is an alumnus of Oregon State University’s School of Forestry with a degree in Natural Resources.

Much of Jeremy’s life has revolved around incorporating the unwritten law into the demands of present-day life: staying culturally active, earning an education, building a skillset, and staying active in tribal government. Starting as a summer hire in high school conducting habitat and redd count surveys for salmon and lamprey, Jeremy worked his way up the ranks at the CTUIR Department of Natural Resources Fisheries Program from a Fisheries Technician to a Biologist. He worked in various capacities and throughout the CTUIR aboriginal title lands.

“The teaching found in the cultures of all the four tribes of making decisions with future generations in mind weighs heavy on me,” says Wolf. “I feel strong enough to endure that weight because of the strong foundation of family, culture, and understanding to move forward in retaining our treaty rights and resources for all our future within the Columbia River Basin. I am committed to listening and taking appropriate action in the ever adapting environmental and political landscape of fishery and First Food management.”

Jeremy and wife Althea Huesties-Wolf have three children: Aiden, Manaia, and Stella. He is also an artist, horseman, traditional slick-style dancer, youth basketball and football coach, wild horse racer, hunter, and fisher.


Vice-chair (vacant, Yakama)

Dan Kane

Secretary Ferris Paisano, Nez Perce

Carlos Smith

Treasurer Ryan Smith, Warm Springs



Jeremy Wolf

Jeremy Red Star Wolf (CRITFC Chair), N. Kathryn Brigham, Corinne Sams, Ken Hall, Bud Herrera, James R. Marsh, Michael Van Pelt


Patrick Luke

vacant (CRITFC Vice-Chair), Gerald Lewis, George R. Meninick, Jeremy Takala, Terry Heemsah Sr, Johnny Jackson, Randy Settler, Wilbur Slockish, Jr., William Yallup, Jr., Rex Zack

Nez Perce

Leotis McCormack

Ferris Paisano III (CRITFC Secretary), Liz Arthur-Attao, Arthur Broncheau, Chantel Eastman, Mary Jane Miles, Casey Mitchell, McCoy Oatman, Bill Picard, Shannon Wheeler, Quintin Ellenwood, Erik Holt, Michael McFarland, Andre Picard Jr, Red-Wing Nick-Les Two Moons

Warm Springs

Carlos Smith

Ryan Smith (CRITFC Treasurer), Delvis Heath, Sr., Anita Jackson, Brigette McConville, Raymond Moody, Joseph Moses, Alfred Smith, Glendon Smith, Lola Sohappy, Lincoln Jay Suppah, Raymond Tsumpti, Sr., Wilson Wewa, Jr., Bruce Jim, Sr., Emerson G. Squiemphen

Pin It on Pinterest